Friday, September 11, 2009

18 years old Vietnamese wins super tournament, the 4th Kolkata Open

Not even the 2008 Dubai Open or the Wijk Aan Zee Corus group C, two of Wesley So's greatest triumph to date can match what the 18 year old Vietnamese grandmaster, Le Quang Liem had just accomplished. He just won the super strong tournament, the 4th Kolkata Open. By ruling Kolkata, Le Quang Liem asserted himself as one of the best junior player in all of South East Asia. Just seeded 14 with a rating of 2602, he emerges ahead of legitimate super grandmasters in the tourney like the top seed Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (2721), second seed Nigel Short (2706), and other of his more celebrated prodigies like the newly crown DATMO Malaysian Open champion, Parimarjan Negi and reigning world junior champion, Abhijeet Gupta, both of host India.

Le finished the tournament undefeated, scoring 8 points out of possible 10, defeating top seed Mamedyarov in the 4th round and reigning Asian continental champion and second to world champion Vishwanathan Anand, Surya Shekhar Ganguly (2634) in the 7th round. Le has an impressive performance rating of 2777. The tournament saw the participation of 116 players, with 34 GMs, 3 WGMs and a whole bunch of IMs and FMs.

Le will be back to Hanoi $6,000 richer.

Top 20 finishers


NameFEDRtgPts. TB1 TB2 TB3
1VIEGMLe Quang LiemVIE26028,064,059,054,0
2AZEGMMamedyarov ShakhriyarAZE27217,559,055,050,0
3UZBGMFilippov AntonUZB25957,556,053,048,5
4INDGMSandipan ChandaIND26117,066,060,555,0
5ENGGMShort Nigel DENG27067,061,557,552,0
6CZEGMLaznicka ViktorCZE26347,060,556,552,0
7INDIMSatyapragyan SwayangsuIND24397,060,556,051,0
8INDGMGanguly Surya ShekharIND26347,060,556,050,5
9BLRGMAleksandrov AleksejBLR26397,054,550,546,0
10AZEGMSafarli EltajAZE25876,560,556,051,0
11BANGMRahman ZiaurBAN25546,556,552,548,0
12AZEGMMamedov RaufAZE26266,554,550,545,5
13ISRGMPostny EvgenyISR26516,554,050,046,0
14INDGMNegi ParimarjanIND26156,554,050,045,5
15INDGMGupta AbhijeetIND25846,553,048,543,5
16INDGMGeetha Narayanan GopalIND25986,551,548,044,0
17SWEGMHillarp Persson TigerSWE25776,547,543,539,5
18INDGMPanchanathan Magesh ChandranIND25326,061,556,551,5
19KAZGMKhusnutdinov RustamKAZ25066,060,556,051,0
20GEOGMGagunashvili MerabGEO25646,059,555,050,0

Tournament official website

No comments: