Monday, August 17, 2009

Darwin Laylo keeps 2nd Bernabe chess cup

GM Darwin Laylo is making statements why he is one of the top, if not the top Filipino performer recently, here and abroad. The two time World Cup qualifier GM Darwin Laylo successfully defended the 2nd Mayor Florencio Bernabe Cup through superior tie break, edging GM Mark Paragua and GM Wesley So in the process. The three will share the top prize of P30,000. Not bad for a two day event. In the eight round, So was held to a draw by NM Ronald Llavanes and that may have caused him the title. Honorary FIDE president Florencio Campomanes was also around, gracing the opening rites. Last month, Laylo also won the Victory Mall National championship in Caloocan city. and the Asian Zonal 3.3 in Vietnam

With some 300 participants took part in these two day event, this maybe one of the biggest this year.


Final Standing/ rankings in order (300 participants):

8.0 points---GM Darwin Laylo, GM Mark Paragua, GM Wesley So

7.5 points---Merben Roque, NM Ronald Llavanes, IM Chito Garma, Roel Abelgas

7.0 points---IM Richard Bitoon, Rustum Tolentino, Jerry Areque, Nazario Ubanan, Emmanuel Emperado, Mc Do,imigue Lagula, Harrison Maamo, Ali Branzuela, Deniel Causo, Ryan Dungca, Rodolfo Panopio

6.5 points---GM Bong Villamayor…

SAN ROQUE, MARIKINA CITY native Grandmaster Darwin Laylo has retained his Bernabe Chess Cup title after winning the tie break points over runner-up GM Mark Paragua of Quezon City and third placer GM Wesley So of Bacoor, Cavite at the just concluded 2nd Mayor Florencio Bernabe Cup Parañaque Chess Open 2009 at the SM Sucat Activity Center-Building B, Sucat, Paraňaque City, on Sunday.

The triumvirate (GMs Laylo, Paragua and So) tallied 8.0 points in nine outings to split the combined P65,000 purse for the top three finishers. The National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) sanctioned tournament headed by its president Prospero “Butch” Pichay Jr. is attracted by 300 players and supervised by NAPCA chief Boyet Tardecilla in close cooperation with Barangay Don Bosco Chess Club headed by Dr. Bong Perez.

In the final round, Laylo crushed Nazario Ubanan of Cagayan de Oro City, Paragua demolished Harrison Maamo of Davao City while So defeated Rustum Tolentino of Cagayan de Oro City.

GM So could have been alone in the top but a surprising draw with Philippine Airforce bet NM Ronald Llavanes in the penultimate round cost him the solo championship. The Bicol pride Llavanes, playing under the banner of AFP Commanding General, Philippine Airforce LT. General Oscar Rabena finished into a tie for 4th to 7th placers along with Merben Roque of Cebu, IM Chito Garma of Manila and Roel Abelgas of Binan, Laguna.

Another GM entry Buenaventura “Bong” Villamayor of Mauban, Quezon finished at 19th to 35th placers in the company another PAF bet Allan Cantonjos of Gingoog City and two youthful Jan Emmanuel Garcia of Manila and Marie Joseph Turqueza of Quezon City, among others.

No less than FIDE (World Chess Federation) honorary president Florencio “Pocamps” Campomanes led the opening rites along with NAPCA chief Boyet Tardecilla and Barangay Don Bosco Chess Club headed by Dr. Bong Perez.MARLON BERNARDINO

No comments: